Ashford College - Everything You Wanted to Know About T Levels
Search form

Everything You Wanted to Know About T Levels

What are T Levels?

T Levels are a new two-year qualification for 16 to 19 year-olds that follows GCSEs.

Equivalent to A Levels, they have been created in collaboration with over 250 businesses and are designed to give young people a head start towards the future they want.

See also: What is the Difference Between T Levels and A Levels?

What does a T Level Include?

80% College: The majority of the T Level is based at College where students are taught by experienced subject experts in an interactive and hands-on learning environment. At College, they’ll gain in-depth knowledge into their chosen specialism, and will develop industry-relevant skills.

20% Work Placement: The T Level includes a nine-week work placement with a local employer. The placement gives students the opportunity to gain valuable industry experience, whilst further developing their skills and knowledge employers need.

See also: 10 Amazing Skills You’ll Gain Studying the T Level in Digital
                Top 10 Skills You’ll Develop Studying the T Level in Education and Childcare


What T Level Subjects are Available?

By 2023 onwards, the Government hopes to make 24 different T Level routes available nationally.

Here, at Ashford College, we currently offer T Levels in Digital Production, Design and Development, Education and Childcare, and Management and Administration


What are the Entry Requirements?

The entry requirements are a minimum of five GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 or equivalent, including English and mathematics.

It is recommended that applicants for the T Level in Digital Production, Design and Development have a Level 2 qualification in Computing or equivalent.  

Applicants for the T Level in Education and Childcare will need to have a clear DBS check for entry onto the course.

For more information about T Level entry requirements, contact our friendly team: 


How are T Levels Graded?

Students who successfully complete a T Level will be awarded an overall grade of Pass, Merit, Distinction, or Distinction*, and receive a nationally recognised certificate.

To achieve one of the above grades, students must complete their technical qualification (comprised of a ‘core’ component and one or more ‘occupational specialism’ components) and work placement, and meet the minimum requirements for English and mathematics (if they have not done so already).


Is a T Level Worth the Same Number of UCAS Tariff Points as an A Level?

One T Level is equivalent to three A Levels and is worth the same number of UCAS Tariff points overall.

For example, if a student achieves a Distinction* in their T Level, it is equivalent to achieving three A*s at A Level. The T Level and the three A Levels are both worth 168 UCAS Tariff points.

The table below shows how much each T Level grade is worth in UCAS Tariff points, and the equivalent A Level grades:

UCAS Tariff points

T Level Overall Grade

A Level Grades


(A* on the ‘core’ and distinction in the ‘occupational specialism’)









(C or above on the ‘core’)



(D or E on the ‘core’)




What Can You Do After T Levels?

After completing a T Level, students can enter:

  • Employment
  • University
  • An Apprenticeship
  • A Traineeship
  • Other further study

See also: Five Tech Jobs You Can Do with a T Level in Digital
                Where Can a T Level in Education and Childcare Take You?


Want to Know More?

To learn more about T Levels, visit our T Levels page or email our friendly team: